Sooo discouraged...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mystiq Jade

Reaction score
I've been a nail tech for almost two years now, and finally decided to make the jump to be a nail technician full time. I love doing nails, and I know it's what I want to do. But the income is just not coming in... I'm on my second month and am finding that I'm arguing with my husband over money more than anything. He's very supportive, but I can understand the stress of all the bills being on him...
What kept all you techs going to getting to the point of being successful??
I'm completely losing hope...

Im so sorry to hear that your business is not going to well and that it is causing stress between you and your husband. Im assuming you made the decision together so how about sitting down again and looking over the current financial situation.

I would suggest that perhaps you need to decide on a plan together so that you both have the same expectations, set some targets and a time frame and an agreed course of action if you can not make the targets. It is amazing how clear things can become and how determined you can get when you have an "Actual" to work to. Having a plan should help motivate you and will also hopefully put your husbands mind at rest.

In saying that, I dont think two months is a terribly long time and I congratulate you for giving it a go. I wish you well and hope that things pick up for you soon.

I agree with rebeccaj, in that 2 months is not enough time to give your business a chance to reap a decent financial return.

When I set up my first nail business a few years ago, I had fully recouped all the money that went into my business after just one year. One year and that was considered very good at the time. That was before making any profit over my outgoings.