Waxing Diabetics

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Curlywurly

Reaction score
Had a client booked in for waxing last night, but when she had filled in consultation form she stated that she was diabetic, so i siad I would need a doctors note. (she has had waxing done loads of times before and no-one has ever queried the diabetes).

When i looked at my text book when I got home (I started studying in Sept 2003 - so not really old), diabetes is not in the contra-indicated table but in a seperate table labelled 'proceed with caution'.

My insurers (BABTAC) have said at first this morning that it was a contra-indication and that the treatment can not be performed at all - when i told them what it says in my textbook - they said they would look into it further and call me back later on this morning.

Obviously I'm waiting for BABTAC to come back to me with an answer before I go ahead - but in the meantime I just wondered if anyone else has ever queried this with their insurers?

Thanks.

I haven't queried it with my insurers, but I have diabetes and I do wax my legs and epilate under my arms.

The reason why you have to be careful is mainly due to infection, if you pull out hair and you get the little blood spots, then someone who is diabetic, is more prone to that open wound (albeit small) to infection. Furthermore, the wounds take longer to heal.

Also, you will find that a person with diabetes will also have a tendency to thrush not only in personal areas but in places such as under the breasts or anywhere which has a tendency to be sweaty! This obviously exposes you to infection.

If I remember rightly it is all to do with the way in which the body excretes the sugars through the skin and then reacts to sweat, bacteria etc - but somebody else may be able to confirm that!