Why is my acrylic not setting????

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cath Dunbar

Reaction score
Im just starting out with acrylic. I'm getting my bead which looks fine to me and getting better each time but it doesn't seem to be hardening on the nail. i'm leaving it on the nail for seconds before moulding but obviously i'm going wrong somewhere.
Can someone help??????????????

Just a sugggestion..............
Maybe you're working 'too wet' and although the bead looks Ok to you, if you're patting it a lot then monomer from the belly of the brush will soften it more and upset the ratio somewhat.

Thanks i'll give it a go. I was thinking it was prob too wet.
ARRRGH I'll get there.lol I find gel so much easier but acrylic looks so much better.
Thanks alot

Who did you train with hun, or who are you training with at the moment ?

Well i did train 15 years ago when i first went to college lol but i didnt carry on with it nor the profession back then. Just re done my man and ped course and going to go back and do a course with Carlton institute in Windsor. Was getting my stuff out which is newer than 15 years old of course and having a practise. I always carried on doing Gel but just for close friends and family. I do prefere the look of acrylic tho so am trying to master it so i can pic up my cert with them. It's only a day course as i do know how to apply it just isn't getting along with me at all.
Any tips would be great.

i bought some acrylic and it just does not set i think it was cheap.. what products are u using ?? x

I'm using the edge

I was giving it another try on my finger last night. It was a lil better but still not setting right. Did try and get it dryer but still not great. I'm sure this is the problem tho so thanks for pointing it out. Maybe it's my brush too. I dunno really as i'm not used to acrylic.