Why r my own nails sooo bad?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kimmberlei

Reaction score
Hey all!

Merry Christmas!

Question:

I have been a qualified nail tech since june 2005. My nails are sooo bad. I hardley have any nail plates left and rings of fire, all of which i did to myself when i was training, and what other trainees did to me. Its been awhile now and my nails are still as bad. I nearly always have enhancements on to protect them but they seem to be getting worse. None of my clients nails (thankgod) are like this, otherwise im sure they wouldnt come back! Whats happend or what am i doing wrong? I cant leave the enhancements off as its bad advertisement. Any suggestions?

Cheers in advance guys xxx

it sounds to me as if you are still damaging your own nails as the rings of fire etc from training would have grown out by now, you are obviously filing into your own nail plate, there are some great tutorials on here re filing etc, or maybe you should consider more training to help with your problems.

it sounds to me as if you are still damaging your own nails as the rings of fire etc from training would have grown out by now, you are obviously filing into your own nail plate, there are some great tutorials on here re filing etc, or maybe you should consider more training to help with your problems.

Hi and thanks Jac!

I do want to go for more training but i recently took of a set of gels of a client of mine and she told me that her nails have never been as strong and she praised me for helping her to grow and maintain them! I have a reasonable client base which i honestly dont do any damage to their nails (yet!). Its my own nails that seem to be the problem. Why can i do everyone elses nail but my own? Why wont they grow? Do you think that i or people have permenantly damaged future growth? As i say, they dont even seem to grow!?!?:cry: