work 4 free in salon 4 experince

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bell

Reaction score
just wondering if it would be worth my wild asking salons could i come in once/twice a week and work for free just to get some experince seen as im just starting out and dont have a whole lot of experince what do u think have any of u geeks do this when u were starting out? any advive opr comments ect... would be great:p

i am sure some salons would snap you up on the offer, why not do some flyers and send em to local salons ;) good luck hun xx

Its a good idea as long as its not for an unlimited time. Set out at the beginning on how long you are prepared to work for 'experience' for no fee but you would want feedback and guidance where appropriate for your work experience.

I did this when I taught myself how to wordprocess and touch type whilst my middle daughter was a nipper. I taught myself at home then went to a local college and sat RSA Typing and Word Processing Stages 1 & 2 and got Merits in both sylabils. Then it was 'catch 22' can't get a job without experience, can't get experience without a job! So I wrote to a few larger firms locally and offered to work voluntary for 4 months and all I would want in return was a reference at the end of this 4 months and if there was a possibility of an opening, that they would consider me for the position. It was great, I got to use all office machinery that I hadn't used before. It gave me lots of confidence. Unfortunately there was no opening, but I did get a fabulous reference and a bunch of flowers so huge it took 4 vases to display them. Within 2 weeks of my voluntary work ending, I got a job with a local firm who I have worked for for 14 years now and trained day release RSA Book Keeping.