Working too much for nothing...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

_sabrina_

Reaction score
Hi everyone :)
I'm in need of some advice!

I am a mobile tech, and I have to say I have my days full doing nails. I manage to see 5 clients maximum in a day, or 6, if 2 are at the same house. I take 1hr30mins approx with each one, sometime 1hr15mins but due to chit chat/phone/client answering door, it takes more.

I work a full 5 days a week and on Wednesdays I try to keep it free as my day off or only do 1. I wouldn't manage my life otherwise.
So..all in all, with 5 clients a day, that's a 10hrs working day due to travelling+packing/unpacking time which always takes me 30mins inbetween clients.

Lately I have been feeling really tired due to all these hours, often not engaging into conversations with my clients cos I would be almost sleeping there and then (lol), and on Sundays all I want to do is sleep to regain my energies! and feeling that I'm not paid enough after all. Do you think this is worth it? :(

I charge approx £18/€20 as the starting price for a refill and I'm feeling it's cheap.
I really want to put my prices up to compensate for petrol and mostly travelling time (because after almost 5yrs, I now just realized I spend approx 2hr30mins travelling a day and that's time lost!:suprised:)

Do you think it will be worth it to say, put my prices up by £1.75/€2 and risk losing some clients so that I would work less hours? This dilemma has been bugging me for weeks. I am afraid of losing clients though I have a good client base with a 3 week waiting time to fit new ones.

Any views or advice for me pleeasseee? :)

oh just now I've had a text asking to repair a nail today!! don't you know it's Sunday :(((

i recently did a £2 price rise on all my services. i had agonised over it for nearly 2 years!