1st Dark skinned client, advice....

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

talented talons

Master Artist
Reaction score
It took me ages to think of a way of asking this without being rude or anything.

I got a call from a lady who was my mid wife from 7 years ago, (time flies) and i have booked her in to do her nails.

This may seem like a strange question but i have never done any nails on a black person and wanted to know if i should use a different colour on the nail bed or not??

I use EZ Flow as you all know and have many CB mixes ranging from pinks to peaches, but only have the translucent pink for when i don't need to cover anything on the nail bed. She is having french, so would i use a stark white or a more soft white? I've been doing nails for four years, but never had this come up before, so never asked.

I sound so dumb now.....:o

I just need to know this so i am prepared, i feel like a newbie....lol.

When I used EZFlow in the nailbar I worked in many moons ago we were always told to use clear over the nail beds of a black client, and leave the choice of the white up to them. However colour choice has moved on eons since then, so there may be a better option. The trouble is that there are many different tones of black skins too - some warm and some cool, so not always clear cut either!

My client is very dark skinned so it is going to be difficult to know what to try. Maybe a natural powder would be okay?

I have truly white and just white as well as natural, so i can offer lots of possibilities. Thanks Sassy.