Awkward (& awful) situation!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Laurasnowwhite

Reaction score
Hi all,
After some advice and opinions really.

I am relatively new to the industry, and am currently working on a freelance basis after struggling to find salon work.

building a client base is tough as I don't know anybody in the town where I live, but I'm trying my best.

Anyway, about 8 weeks ago, I got a call from a man who wanted to book and manicure and pedicure for his wife before they went on holiday. As it was my first real 'general public' booking I was apprehensive, but took the booking and went along.

The appointment went well, the client was slightly scary, but I think that was jus because she seemed to be quite an authoritarian woman!!

As I was leaving I left one of my price lists with her, and when she returned from her holiday she booked me for another pedicure and a massage.

Again, appointment went well, however, while o was there she enquired whether I would massage her husband, as he apparently loves massage and gets at least one a week (oh the extravagance!!)
I felt a little put on the spot, so made up some rubbish about having to check the terms of my insurance as I'm mobile.

I saw her a few weeks later for another massage and pedicure and she asked again, so I agreed to giving him a massage the following week (money's a bit tight after paying for all my training and buying all my equipment, so I'm not really in the position where I can turn down work, especially if he's going to book me once a week!!)

I arrived on Friday just gone to do the massage, they have their own couch, as he has so many (I found this strange, just me?!) so I just rocked up with my oil and a towel.

I left him in the room to get ready and settled, specifically saying cover yourself with the towel, but when I opened the door I got an eyeful!!