Bleach Shampoo?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 19740

Reaction score
Hi guys

I am currently a very dark red (Fudge Paintbox Cherry Bomb over dark brown). I am naturally dark brown.

I want to go blonde (which I have been many times in the past). What is the best way of doing this? I realise red (especially a semi) is the hardest colour to get out!! Should I bleach shampoo my hair? I have looked on previous threads about quantities but I'm by no means a professional - so any advice / help would be greatly appreciated!!

All I can say is that if your not a pro in Hairdressing, then go to a Hairdressers or get a mobile hairdresser in to do it. If you do it, it will no doubt cost you more in the long run when it has gone orange or something.

a bleach shampoo may slightly lift you hair also depending on whats underneath . unfortunately bleach doesnt tone so you get any number of shades thrown up from canary yellow to bright red . id be very careful and go to a professional ,just in case

go to a professional hairdressers and get your hair colour corrected as red is the hardest pigment to lift out of the hair shaft itself and if youve had a semi there only meant to last 6-8 washes but if your hair is in porus/bad condition then sometimes the hair will hold the colour so dont do no DIY go to your local hairdressers :)

Thanks for all the advice :)

I'm gonna go to my local hairdressers to have a bleach shampoo but was wondering whether I should go for a light brown tint all over after and then maybe leave it a week before getting blonde highlights? :rolleyes:

Thanks for all the advice :)

I'm gonna go to my local hairdressers to have a bleach shampoo but was wondering whether I should go for a light brown tint all over after and then maybe leave it a week before getting blonde highlights? :rolleyes:

Your hairdresser will advise you