Gel polish, is it suitable for people working with food?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hair by Becci

Reaction score
Hi geeks, one of my client who usually just has a manicure without polish because she works with food has asked me if she can have the gel polish on her fingers? I was unsure!

Usually people who work with food are not allowed anything on their nails but it wouldn't be up to you to decide for her but up to her to cover this matter with her employers really. :wink2:

Thanks for your help :) x

I work in a school kitchen and i wear gelish (generally a pale/nude colour), but i don't prepare food, I'm a delivery driver, then i do washing up later and if i have to serve food (which is not often) I always wear those blue gloves anyway.

Technically it's your not supposed to if you are handling food, so she should speak to her employer, if it's a nudeish colour or a plain french and shes wearing gloves all of the time then the employer might say yes.

You don't ask....you don't get! :biggrin:

It is absolutely the decision of the employer. I can understand why no covering on the nails should be the rule for those who work with food. Polish could flake off and a gel polish could be lifted on the edge of the nail and trap 'bugs. :eek:

I would like to tell you a little story though! Many, many years ago when I had a salon, one of my regular clients catered for workers on building sites. She loved her nails and the catering company was hers.