How do you deal with friends wanting deals?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I know my opinion isnt a popular one, but I learnt the hard way (kind of), and decided to put a stop to it immediately, hence my strict rules:

As a newly qualified tech I once spent 5 hours doing nails for two of my friends, we went into the early hours, and because I hadnt been specific about what I wanted (I just said I wanted "something" for them) that something turned out to be a bottle of wine. They expected the same deal the next time aswell. It was at that point that I pulled my socks up, started treating it as a business, and set out my clear price guidelines to anyone who enquired. Since doing that people have taken me much more seriously as a business woman.

I agree that you always continue to learn, I'm very much still learning, but there does come a definite day when you stop practising on friends and family, start being a business open to the public, and for me it was at that point when I had to begin charging everyone.

Mrs R, there are no hard & fast rules on this, just opinions, and they vary greatly. The important thing is to do what feels right to you, but do bear in mind your profit margin - dont give treatments away to the detriment of your business and livelihood:green:

Further to my earlier post £15 is only until i qualify & am based in the salon, then its list price for all, all of my friends are aware of this and have all agreed that its a business..

They have all been told in advance so there are no grey areas.

I wouldnt do any treatments cheaper for friends once i am qualified and up & running...

Set your targets and stick to them like glue, whatever the situation..

Champagne xx

IMHO The only people who deserve freebies, don't want them. They are the people who care about you, appriciate you and want you to be successful.