Nail Art - Love it or Hate it?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mely-bely

Reaction score
Hello fellow Geeks,

I have been thinking about this a lot lately as I have been doing a lot of nail art these days. Some days I love it, others I hate it!

I have noticed that there are several phenominal nail professionals in this forum that don't do nail art, so I am asking you all to weigh in and tell me whether you like it or not and why.

I am just really curious and want the opinions of the many talented professionals on this site!

Thank you!

Melanie

I am an artist and I am more than capable of offering nail art services and I always did offer it in the salon and had many examples to show clients.

But, everyone knows I am not an advocate of nail art. So why not? I'm an artist, I can do it even better than most, so why do I not champion it?

Pure economics. The reason I do not champion the service in the UK is generally speaking, because the amount of people who come in to the salon and want it, is a minute proportion of most people's business.

Purely based on my experience in the salon my ADVISE to new nail techs is ... NOT to go overboard spending heaps of money on products to do nail art when the clients do not ask for it! And the reason they don't ask for it is that they won't pay for it. Simple. The other reason is that many who want to offer nail art are not particularly artistic and it looks pants if you can't do it beautifully.

By nail art, I am not including the odd diamonté or glitter or coloured tips .. I am talking about hand painted nail ART or 3D or embedded etc which takes heaps of time and for which you do not get paid what it is worth.