Part time beauty therapy course?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
hi, im new here and i am thinking of starting a beauty therapy course-nvq level 2 (unless i can do a higher level without any beauty experiance, i think this is the highest level i could start off on?) however i am currently a newly qualified stafff nurse but have developed an intrest in beauty therapy this past year or two. i enjoy doing my own nails and waxing/pampering etc and think i would enjoy the career.

i still want to carry on with my nursing full time, i currently work in neurosurgery but would like to go into either midwifery,family planning or sexual health in the future.
i am thinking of doing the part time course (its over 2 evenings a week for 36 weeks) and once qualified i thought i might do treatments for freinds/family and friends of friends and maybe advertise myself to the public in my free time.
ive also briefly thought of complimentary therpies and thought this could maybe link in with my nursing.

so really just looking for peoples opinons on this, do you think it is 'doable' how hard is the course? anyone been in a simlar situation? any tips/ideas? thanks! x

Hi and welcome to the site.

Yes of course it's doable if you want to do it! As you've got a nursing qualification you should breeze through the a&p theory as well. Bear in mind though that you will need time to practice your treatments in between work and college so you may find yourself very tight for time while you're doing the course. But you sound pretty motivated to me, so go for it. :hug:

having the nursing behand you will be a huge advantage for the anatomy and physiology part of the course, and generally once you are interested in something you will take to the learning and work easier so i would say definately go for it and good luck