Question from a hair salon owner

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

classixuk

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This is my first visit to this site and I'm after some education (hope I've come to the right place).

I own a couple of successful hair salons in Liverpool, UK and we are looking to expand into nails at the request of some of our clients.

Our main salon is quite large (1,500 sq feet over 2 floors) and very busy! We don't offer any services other than hair right now and so that's where i need your help.

I'm a guy and my experience of nails is obviously quite poor. Years ago I was a health spa manager for Steiner and worked on the QE2. I trained in facials, body wraps, slimming treatments etc. as part of my management training but I more or less skipped nails all together. I did a set of acrylics once but I hated it. I just kept finding excuses as to why I had to be somewhere else. I can't even figure out how nail technicians get the polish so smooth. Give me a pair of scissors and a tint brush though and I'm as happy as a pig in mud.

So, considering the above, I'm really wary about employing a nail tech. How will I know if they're any good? What would I do if something went wrong and a customer of mine complained to me as the boss; after all, it's not as if I'd be able to fix it!

So I thought that perhaps I'd best rent out space for a motivated nail technician to take advantage of. I've only ever done this once though and I got my fingers burned. The girl didn't show up for her appointments or would not bother coming in on a Saturday. My customers would be furious, but of course I had collected the rent so couldn't "re-rent" out the space. After about 3 weeks of being messed around I just forgot about doing nails at all. That was 4 years ago.