Rent Nail space in hairdressers on sat morning... should i or not?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

julieanne27uk

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

My sister owns a hairdressers near where I live and she has asked me if I would like to do nails there on a saturday!!!:eek:

I work fulltime for an engineering company (stock control, production admin etc.. i'm not an engineer!). I have done my vtct x 2, creative training, airbrush training etc.. and have lots of plans to do more training. So far it has only been as a hobby / family and friends type of thing. I've just bought a house and moved out of my parents place a month ago. My idea was to do nails part time when i had the space and maybe do spray tanning too.

The idea my sister had was for me to do manicure, nail art and airbrushing on saturdays. I'd pay her a % of whatever i made. Her shop is only open from 8.30 til 2 on saturdays, so it wouldn't be a full day. I have done nails there before on a couple of occasions when she had wedding bookings in. Some of her clients that were in at the same time asked if it would be a regular thing as they would be interested in having a manicure. I've done solar and spa manicures on my sister before and she thinks her clients would love it.:)

I like the idea of doing it, but its just a big step to take as I would have to get it agreed with my boss at my main job (its in my contract I have to tell them and get their agreement) also register as self-employed for my second job, sort my own tax/NI, insurance etc... all seems complicated and daunting!! I'm trying to adjust to living by myself and I split with my boyfriend recently too:cry: though i still see him, we're trying being "friends" for bit. So it would be good to get started on something to take my mind off it.