Right time to go mobile?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Luscious85

Reaction score
Hi,

I've written about this before but things are a little bit different and more real now I'm qualified so I'd really appreiciate some advice from fellow Geeks and those who have been in a similar situation!

I should start off by saying that I'm a qualified Beauty Therapist, and my goal is to set up my own mobile beauty business. I'm currently working full-time in a large company marketing dept where I've worked for 7 years (since I was 18) and my job is very involved and entails lots of overseas and UK travelling. I know that the ideal scenario would be for me to build up a evenings and weekends client base alongside my job but it's just not the sort of job where it would be appropriate to do that, and my hours are so unpredictable and the travel so frequent that I'd just not be able to manage clients properly. So next best is to find part-time employment.

I'm lucky enough to be still living at home, but I do have financial commitments aside from rent etc, one particularly hefty one which I need to make sure I pay each month. If I was disciplined enough I could probably clear it in the next 6 months, but by then I'd be more sucked into my full-time job and part way through a year of trips. My feeling is that the end of this year would be a good time to leave if I'm going to, and I have to give 8 weeks notice. I've been doing lots of work on the business side recently because I've been on holiday, and I'm feeling really excited and determined, and I don't want this moment to pass me by. I feel like now is the time to do something about this. My business cards and price lists are done, my website is on its way, and I have all the equipment I need more or less - I bought things as I went along during college. I don't need any extra funding - I'm funding everything myself.