The big debate nail drill vs file

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shellstar

Reaction score
hi all,

i am new to salon geek, and i am just amazed at some of the nail work its amazing :)

I have been doing acrylic nails now for about 8 years, and i have been doing fairly basic glitter nails for about 2 years. i am starting to experiment a little more now and i am always getting inspired by the designs i see on the net.

The problem is i am finding it really hard work to buff of some of these glitters and bits and peices, i use a nail file not a drill and i am wondering what your thoughts are on the drill is it going to cut my time? it normally takes me 1 to 1.5 hrs max to do full sets and refills. the problem with the drill is some of my clients have had it before and hate it cause it hurts so im confused what to do. i want to be able to have that beautiful crisp smile line that i always see with the drill, with out having to buff the nails back to scratch with the nail file:cry:

so i guess my question sumed up is "to drill or not to drill"

the problem with the drill is some of my clients have had it before and hate it cause it hurts so im confused what to do.
:eek: Why should it hurt?

they say it hurts becasue sometimes the nail tech drills through the natural nail or sometimes it gets to hot and also it can cut easily, im not really sure if this is common but i have had a few clients complain about old nail techs???

Its a case of finding some quality training.
Untrained, chances are you will cause pain & damage, but a tiny one day course will prevent all that.

E-files are lovely, when you know exactly how to use one. :hug:

they say it hurts becasue sometimes the nail tech drills through the natural nail or sometimes it gets to hot and also it can cut easily, im not really sure if this is common but i have had a few clients complain about old nail techs???