What time do you turn your work phone off and on?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lashed11

Reaction score
Hey peeps,

Working as a mobile therapist, I have taken some great advice of some geeks and bought myself a separate work phone! I was just wondering, out of interest, what time does everyone switch their phone off and on?

I always switch mine on in the morning, after I have had breakfast and showered- so I feel "ready" to start the day. Normally around 9am.

I thought i would ask because It's now 11pm and my phone is now switched off, but I keep checking it because I have a client who still hasn't confirmed her appointment for 12 mid day tomorrow! And I feel like I can't sleep properly unless I know! Tomorrow was meant to be my day off, but I had someone ask for a full set of lashes and shellac so I offered her the slot tomorrow and she hasn't said a definite yes or no...:-/

I also have a client who left me a voicemail asking for appointment this weekend, I text him telling him I'm fully booked but could do next week...the next thing I know he is calling me at 9pm...I found it kinda invasive for some reason... I feel like I need a routine with my phone so I can allow myself to properly switch off, but I just wondered what you geeks would believe to be a reasonable time...?

I have also scheduled in a Sunday as my day off... Now I know in a salon, if the salon is closed there is an answering machine for clients to leave messages.... Do you think it's "ok" if on a Sunday I actually leave my phone off and reply to clients on a Monday? Or would you think that because I'm mobile, I need to be "more flexible"?

I feel so random asking these questions, but I would be intrigued to know how everyone else operates, especially mobile therapists. :)