Which wax?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aimezzzz

Reaction score
Hi y'all, I'm new to the forum so hope I am posting in the right place etc!

I'm not a professional so go and get full leg and Hollywood waxes every month or so, sometimes I also get underarm as well, and now I'm looking into waxing from home in order to save money in the long run! I've been trying to research but have been getting so much information that I'm now not entirely sure what's what!

So... can someone tell me:
- the difference between hot wax, warm wax, film wax, creme wax (or are some the same thing with different names? or are some types of others?)
- which of the above are strip wax and which are non-strip?
- is it better to use strip or non-strip wax around the bikini area?
- can you use any kind of wax in a heater?

I'd really appreciate a concrete answer here!
Thank you very much x

I would suggest not doing your own waxing, if you haven't trained. You could damage yourself if you don't know what you're doing.

If you do want to do your own, take a good waxing course. You'll be taught proper technique and all the questions you asked will be covered.

Hiya. I think that as you're not a pro, we should keep this simple and straight to the point.

Strip wax (wax removed with a strip) is great for general body waxing and Hot wax (wax removed by hand and not strip) is best on sensitive areas.

If you choose not to go to a pro and use high street waxes, then have a read of the instructions for use as you don't want to tear your skin or break the hair.

Hope that helps.