Working on a set of nails created at an NSS?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lucy-Jayne

Reaction score
I've been in my new salon for just over a week, and already I have clients coming in from the local NSS wanting their nails sorted out having educated them on the dangers.

Today, I've been an absolute fool. I agreed to do a rebalance and then an infill on two sets of nails created at the same place. I knew I was letting myself in for some hard work, but oh my god, I never realised there would be so much. I feel so sorry for these people that I want to help them remove them, otherwise they will just try to peel them off themselves and end up in even more of a state.

This evening, I feel ill, really ill. I've never worked on MMA ridden nails before and I have firmly decided not to do them again. My chest has been very tight ever since I started them at 11am. I have all of the correct extraction etc but still I managed to get absolutely covered in the stuff inside and out! Already an asthmatic I have never had a problem with my creative products, or filing anyone elses for that matter.

My question being: Do you work on a clients nails if they're coming to you having been to a NSS?

In my opinion, I don't want to, and I don't think that from a Health and Safety aspect I should. I don't want to put myself through that again, and my clients, or anyone in my salon. Everyone could smell what was being filed off. I just don't want to lose potential clients though. But if I'm choosing between that and my health, I choose my health!