Any guys doing spray tans?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nwtan

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie to the forums and doing research into the mobile spray tanning business at the moment. Just wondering if there are any guys out there who are making a living doing spray tans? My main reason for looking into this line of work is to be able to do something that will fit around my family commitments i.e. A full time working wife and 2 young children and as I have taken a back seat from doing 60-odd hour weeks (thank God!), I still need to have a small(ish) income stream and was thinking about the spray tanning business. I am under no illusion that this is a get rich quick job (what job is?) but as I used to be a spray painter on high performance cars and still do some custom airbrushing, I thought I would be more than capable of providing a quality tan (same technique different surface i guess!) The thing is, and it's an obvious question, would I be better just targeting the male population, bodybuilders,gyms etc? I know that perhaps most women would be very reluctant to have a male tan them, for obvious reasons, no matter how professional the service. Do any of you guys have much luck spraying both sexes? It goes without saying I would offer a very relaxed and professional service and a great looking tan!
Sorry for waffling on a bit, just putting you in the picture!! lol
I am currently trying out Celebrity Secrets and Couture products and will let you know how it goes!
Oh, I need a name too!! Any ideas?
Thanks in advance
Russ

we supply a very succesfull male spray tanner.he uses around 5 litres a month so that equates to around 125 tans,:lol:
He is a barber and has the back room of his shop for spray tanning, he says His clientelle are 50% gay men 30% female and 20% hetro males