Charging whilst training

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hannah1984

Reaction score
Hi, I am training in NVQ 2 Beauty Therapy. We have covered all of the treatments apart from make up and the commercial salon at college has opened up and we are having clients in on both days that we are there. I have brought my own portable treatment bed and waxing pot and products, I have already started to wax friends at home but have not charged them yet. So obviously even though the experience is good for me I am losing money as not getting anything back for the products.

What I want to do and would like some advice on please, is I would like to make up a trainee price list and hand out to my friends and local homes around where I live (people who I know first). Do you think that it would be ok to do this? The list will state that I am a trainee and therefore the prices will reflect this, but once I'm qualified then the prices will go up. The only treatment that I can't do at home is facials as I cant afford to buy all the products for all the skin types yet. So I will be able to do - waxing, tinting, manicure, pedicure, eyebrow shaping.

How low do you think I should set my prices? I would probably go to their home more than they come to me as the only space for my treatment bed is in my kitchen which is where the rabbits litter tray and food is (I have 2 house bunnies) which doesn't smell but I cant move into the lounge as they will make a mess and I can't stop them coming into the kitchen as that's their main home. So I feel it would be better to go to clients homes unless they know about my bunnies and dont mind them! lol

Hi Hannah,I think it's fair enough that you charge people for your treatments,but dont go too low or you will have problems charging a realistic price once you are fully qualified.