Give up or stick it out?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NailsByShakira

Reaction score
For the past month or so, I've thought about packing up nails for good. I feel like I've lost my passion I once had for it and I don't know why. Recently I've been offered more hours in my day job which I took because I can't really rely on the extra nail income, plus need the extra money as I have now moved out with my partner.

My client list has gone down dramatically and only have one regular client who's a family friend, and I am grateful for having her. I've been doing nails on and off for around 3/4 years so I know what I'm doing and have had the appropriate training.

Part of me thinks it's the money side of it all, keeping up with all the latest colours/trends/products. I can't afford it all. I think cause I don't have all the colours, no one is interested & there's not a lot of choice. I'm basically in debt on my credit card from buying new colours, equipment and not being busy enough make the money back to pay it off.

I currently do natural nails, so most people know me for offering CND Shellac, Brisa Lite Gels & Manicures, CND additives. I promote on Facebook, send texts, my family help to promote me, I have 20% off offers now and again and nothing. My prices aren't expensive either, I range from £15-£24 (depends on what you have).

A friend and I were gonna open up a shop together in the future, when we have enough clients between us. She does eyebrows, tinting, lashes that kind of thing. She's waay busier than me and has been quite successful so far but she doesn't have a day job and therefore has more time to fit people in. I don't.

So I don't know what to do. Give up, or stick it out? I need some advice from you guys.
Thanks in advance,

Shakira x