In a predicament!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kaseysmum21

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have been a mobile beauty therapist for 2 years now and when i first started up my mother in law gave me £500 to help me with start up costs in return for some free manicures. 2 years on she's still not paying for any and i really need to draw a line under this and get her to start paying. Im always in an awkward position when she books in for something cuz i dont like to be confrontational about things and directly ask her to pay. All i get once ive finished her treatment is a thankyou and goodbye and im left feeling a bit put out.

Has anyone got any good ideas of how i can get her to start paying in a nice way without digruntaling my mother in law and causing tension between us?

Thanks Stacey x

I would pay her back the £500 and then offer her a discount on treatments in the future. After all she did help you massively to start out. It seems if you pay her back you can start fresh and even charge full price without bad feelings between you. Think of the free manicures as interest payments on a loan.

Last edited:
I would say you can't book her in next time she asks as you're busy. Then if she keeps asking why just say you need to leave the slot for a paying customer as you're in need of the money/saving for something etc that way she has the choice to say oh ok or oh well I'll pay you. I am doing the same now for a nightmare neighbour, she does pay but always expects a discount and I just pretend I'm fully booked if she asks.

I'm with weezie on this one. Pay her back her £500 if you can.

Then again, depends how often she has a manicure, if you take on average one a month over 2 years at an average of £20 each (don't know how much you charge but just an average figure for natural mani) then she's probably just about on her £500 investment about now.