Nail course & qualification questions

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PinkFish

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I've been lurking on the forums for a couple of days reading through threads etc and have decided to do an Essential Nails Fibreglass course - I don't get a lot of spare time so I don't really have any options other than a home study.

There are 2 two packages for Fibreglass on the EN website - one with the nail trainer costing £361 and one without which is £293. After coming across this brilliant thread which suggested making a finger out of blu tac, can I just skip the nail trainer and save myself a few £s? Bearing in mind I am a nail newbie with the only experience being painting my (and friends') nails! However I love doing it so decided to enroll on a course. Are there any advantages of using the nail trainer over making blu tac fingers?

It also says on the EN website that once you pass one of their courses, you receive a certificate allowing you to obtain insurance and start work straightaway as a nail technician. How accurate is this claim? I personally thought being a qualified nail technician requires you to offer all kinds of nail services and not just one, plus experience in working with real nails. If you have done one of their courses and decided to work with nails professionally, have you encountered any problems with other companies in the industry not recognizing their certification?

Apologies for the somewhat lengthy post, any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you for reading :)

Last edited:
Hi,
I'm no expert, but as far as I'm aware, as soon as you're qualified and have your certificate, you can work!!!! Don't do what I did though, I trained with creative 3 years ago and didn't do many nails, then gave up to have my son! Back at it now, but need more practice!!! HTH XXXX:confused: