Nails not your full time job?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fluffy

Reaction score
Is there anyone else out there who doesn't do nails as their full time job? I work as a legal secretary in the city but just really fancied learning how to do nails. I just wondered if there was anyone else out there in the same situation as me. How many clients do you have? When do you find time for your clients?

HI,

Im a full time mummy!!! Stay at home bringing our beautiful baby boy up!

I am just in process of advertising myself, so the clients that i do have i do in an evening or at weekend(as hubbie works!).

Louise x

Hi Fluffy,

I just recently left my full time job at the end of April to take on my business full time. I used to be mobile on weekends and in the evenings during the week. I had more cancellations and no shows because my clients knew it was a part time thing and they treated my appointments as if it was my hobbie and it wasn't, I was trying to build a client base and earn an extra income. But if you do this thing part time expect "part time clients". Who knows you may have better luck than me!! I used to work sometimes until 23:00 at night, still do, but my hours are flexible now, so if I want an hour off or the evening off, I can take it when I want.

I used to get home at 18:30 from work, change and rush out to do someones nails, it's hard going because I had to get home and make dinner at say 21:00. Thank goodness I don't have children I would never have found the time to do this thing part time.

So I decided to take a leap of faith with basically no clientele and do this full time, it's picking up now and my clients seem to be a bit more serious about their appointments as they know it's my only income.

Hope this helps somehow, don't know how the other Geeks manage.

xxxx

Hi Fluffy,