Not a 'real' job!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emo

Reaction score
I was at a party last night enjoying myself and having areal good time when I got chatting to some friends of friends. We got round to talking about our jobs and when I told them that I was a nail tech they dismissed it as not being a proper profession! :irked: One of them actually said that "sitting ,painting nails all day isn't my idea of hard work , sure anyone could do that" :mad: Then just to top it all off the other one decides to voice her opinion and says that she got the impression that girls who go into beauty were 'kinda' slow and didn't have the inteligence to to do degree or high level courses!!!!:evil: Well needless to say I was really p***ed off and explained to them exactly what was involved and how hard it is to become qualified. They listened but sure I think they got bored at that stage.
Now I know that I shouldn't have let these a****les get to me but it really rubs me up the wrong way when people think nail techs and beauty professionals are dumb or 'airheads'. The media has a lot to answer for too!
Is that what the general public see us as?
Anyway I was wondering if anyone else had come across this stereotyping at all?