Severe contra-action? advice - never come across this before

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

perfectbeauty

Reaction score
If anybody has come across this before or can tell me what else I can advise one of my learners I would appreciate your replies - sorry this may be long but have tried to fill whole scenario in

I am a part time tutor - teaching NVQ level 2 nail services

My class started nail enhancements unit a few weeks ago - one of the learners has only been in for 2 of the weeks when we have actually used product and each time after leaving class has had a nosebleed (not while in class or using product but on arriving home)

her doctor has suggested it is due to learning nail enhancements
I have covered all the usual health and safety aspects concerning over exposure right from the start

this is what we do:

1. ventilation system is on
2 this learner has used a face mask from day 1
3 liquid is only poured out at the time they are ready to start applying product
4 we use dappen dishes with lids
5 a gauze pad dampened with scrubfresh is used to wipe brush on
6 students are fully aware of applying product correctly so there is minimal filing

I have seen on one of gigi's thread a couple of things that I could implement like using oil first before filing and we open windows if necessary

Is there anything else I can advise and would this reaction definitely been due to nails and dust filings

I have never heard of anyone having nose bleed before but she has definitely only had nosebleed after each of these classes when we have used product

I have racked my brains if there is anything else we can do and also I have searched to see what info i can find on this

thanks in advance
nicola

Maybe she is giving her nose a good old blow when she gets home to get rid of any dust she feels might be up there, but doing it too hard?