Should I move my business back home? Mucho advice needed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sassy Hassy

Reaction score
Hi peeps!! I am in a real quandry at the mo and I really need as much advice as I can get right now, so please help me!
I have been renting space in a hair salon since September 2003, in June of this year I took over the first floor with 2 nail stations, a beauty treatment room and a permanent make up (PMC) treatment room. Business was doing really well until the last week of September and now we are down a minimum of £1000 per month on our takings ( the interest rate rise has hit hard in this area). I really cannot continue as we are financially, and so have thought about working from home again which will release me £100 per week, plus another £150 if I sold my car and used my daughter's whilst she is at University, as I wouldn't need one so much if I worked from home.

• We get very little walk in trade, or trade from the salon (mainly old biddies), nearly all my clients come from my directory advertising, or word of mouth, so I don't benefit from a visual presence although admitedly we are at the "quiet" end of town.
  • The salon is very drab looking from the front and the owner had a baby in March and seems to have lost total interest in it, particularly since their business has gone though the floor too (it seems to be rife around her), so it's not very inviting (although when you come upstairs everyone says how lovely it is.)
  • I am registered with the Council to do my PMC there, which I couldn't do from home (have thought about using their room on an ad hoc basis and paying a daily fee, or a percentage of takings as commission), but even if I didn't do it all I could still be £200 per month better off, or £350 if I sold the car (i have a £250 a month lease to pay back)