Thinking of doing hairdressing

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weegirl10

Reaction score
Hi

I am a beauty therapist and at the minute i am thinking of doing hairdressing in september part time! I'm thinking of having it as a hobby - doing it at home sort of thing.

Do you think hairdressing is good money and as im thinking of doing it at home, is it a good idea?

Thank you

Hairdressing is an entire trade, not a hobby. In general people train for a couple of years to then come on here with an "EEK I've sodded up someones hair" thread.
For an awful lot of people, it is their big ambition, and they don't make it. Out of every 100 people starting training, 4 will become senior stylists.
It is a difficult trade to master, and yes it looks the easiest thing in the world when you're watching a pro.
There are lots of courses, evenings, weekends etc but be aware it will be a long while before you are ready to actually do hair, let alone for money!

There is alot of money to be made in Hairdressing. My other company Caledonian Therapy Academy run hairdresssing courses in Scotland all of our students so far have walked into jobs after training. Good luck with your studies x

Hi

I am a beauty therapist and at the minute i am thinking of doing hairdressing in september part time! I'm thinking of having it as a hobby - doing it at home sort of thing.

Do you think hairdressing is good money and as im thinking of doing it at home, is it a good idea?

Thank you

Me too! I'm in exactly the same boat as you.
I left school at 15 and got a job in a hairdressers just washing hair and doing the odd tint and shampoo and set. I left when I was 20 and did beauty. I'm just waiting for my interview at my local college. I'm sure it's good money if your good at it! Good luck :hug: x

It's good money when you have been doing it about 7 years. Before that it is minimum wage.