Waxing-removing the skin

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a friend that comes to me every now and then for waxing. I usually do her underarm and bikini area. Now on this particulaer lady with every wax ths skin seems to come away with the wax and strip. Now, I have been carrying out waxing treatments for quite a few years now, so I believe that I am quiet experinced with it (always willing to learn and get tips though).I hold the skin taught and where possible, get the clients to pull too.

I use warm wax for these areas. She says that she has a bath/shower just before she comes (applies no lotion/deoderant). I thought that this might be the cause??? Never had this happen to me before:irked:

Any ideas?

I was taught that this can happen if the skin is undermoisturised/dry skin ???

Hey Babs :)

Using a small amount of oil acts as a barrier between skin and wax in a similar way to talc/powder. The main difference is that talc absorbs moisture, which can result in wax sticking to the skin (in turn making lifting and irritation more likely), whilst oil creates a lubricant barrier that prevents the wax from sticking to the skin.

Still do your pre-wax cleanse. The idea is to have a controlled amount of oil on the skin, so your pre-wax product will remove excess sebum, perspiration and body lotions, etc, that would otherwise make life difficult.

Andy
Thanx Andy,as I said in my Pm I havn't ever needed to use any oil when I have waxed.Never say never though.You live and learn eh.Thanks for getting back on this issue :hug:

Hey Babs :)