Waxing-removing the skin

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cantrelax

Head in the clouds Geek
Reaction score
I have a friend that comes to me every now and then for waxing. I usually do her underarm and bikini area. Now on this particulaer lady with every wax ths skin seems to come away with the wax and strip. Now, I have been carrying out waxing treatments for quite a few years now, so I believe that I am quiet experinced with it (always willing to learn and get tips though).I hold the skin taught and where possible, get the clients to pull too.

I use warm wax for these areas. She says that she has a bath/shower just before she comes (applies no lotion/deoderant). I thought that this might be the cause??? Never had this happen to me before:irked:

Any ideas?

have you thought about using a small amount of oil on the area? this stops the wax grabbing at the skin.

also, have you thought about sugaring?
there is a thread on the tanning forum about it -
Sun Mist Tanning Forum - Waxing or Sugaring?

tried using talc ?

From reading all the previous threads it seams that using oil is the best way to avoid removing skin when waxing - but what type of oil do you all use?

someones gonna say "Solar Oil" :lol:

Thanks Guys. I have heard of the oil trick before. I dont use Talc as I have read and heard that is is cancer causing. I would still like to know why the skin is being torn in the first place though.

someones gonna say "Solar Oil" :lol:

Not quite, but I remember reading a thread once where Minkus had nothing else and used Solar Oil. Apparently it works quite well :)

For waxing I use my normal "Afterwax Oil" and it works a treat !

Marlise

solar oil does work well!!