What are your thoughts on PhD waxing?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sparkler

Reaction score
i have just ordered a PhD waxing kit, it seemed the best system for me as im a mobile therapist. hope ive done the right thing. have you any advise salon geeks?

Hi,

I only use the PhD system and I love it. I am home based aswell as mobile and find it quick to heat, hygenic and less messy than pot'n'spat. I cannot imagine using another product. I also did the advanced PhD Brazilian training with Ellisons which is VERY good.

Good luck

I found it rather gloopy...did not glide on at all...if you want a tube wax system,then check out Australian Bodycare...i never looked back:)

I trained on the phd system but have changed to pot and spatula and would never go back to phd.
As the tubes are constantly being taken out of the heating chamber, the wax doesn't stay at a constant temperature.
The applicator heads can get clogged and it actually works out more expensive as you are using more strips and more wax.
Some people love the system so see how you get on with it but for me personally, i wouldn't change!

Hi. I'm mobile and use clean n easy roller wax for larger areas and pot for hot waxing more delicate areas. I tried tubes but had same used over temperature. Rollers are great, clean and hygenic too.

HI -

I just didn't get on with the PHD system at all. I have one of the original heaters, and the newer ones are better so I believe. With me I always found the first application was fine, although the tubes were so hot they were difficult to handle even with a paper or fibre strip.

Once the tube had been placed back in the heating chamber the wax never came out at the same consistency. For me personally - I felt the whole system to be over- hyped. My friend , totally disagrees with me and she loves it. and would'nt use anything else.