All in the name of research.. would you mystery shop your competition?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MINKUS

Gel Junkie
Reaction score
morning geek! I've been thinking to keep the old standards up etc (and it ties in with my new year resolution of pampering ME more) I'm going to check out what's hot and happening with my competitors! Is this something you do? Have done? Would do? Would you tell them you are a nail tech?​

Last edited:
Unfortunately I live in a small town, so most of my competitors know who I am, wouldn't be much mystery about it!

But yeh I would definately. I think its good to know what your competitiors are up to and like you said, gives you a chance to have a wee pamper.

I watch them though, get people to go in for price lists etc, then I do all the things there are NOT doing. lol xx

And yes I would tell them I'm a nail tech, if they are any good it wount phase them and its always good to have somewhere to refer your clients to if you are ever taken ill etc.

Last edited:
It's not something I've thought about, but now you've mentioned it, it's not a bad idea. When I pass my acrylic course I want to work for myself so i was thinking about going to my local salons to see what they charged. It would be good to see what the 'in thing' is at the moment so you could maybe train in something else.
I wouldn't tell them I was a nail tech though.

Unfortunately I live in a small town, so most of my competitors know who I am, wouldn't be much mystery about it!

But yeh I would definately. I think its good to know what your competitiors are up to and like you said, gives you a chance to have a wee pamper.

I watch them though, get people to go in for price lists etc, then I do all the things there are NOT doing. lol xx