Do You Let Your Clients Walk All Over You?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrs.Clooney

Positive Geek
Reaction score
I have posted this in Nail Geek because I hope it gets techs (especially newbies) to evaluate why we do and say certain things which affect our self esteem, professionalism and ultimately, our businesses. This also applies to Skin Geeks, however. Mods, please feel free to move this if you think it is in the wrong forum though.

When I first started doing nails I gave loads of freebies because I felt guilty about 'doing a bad set' even if the client was a picker or heavy handed and careless. I would also go out of my way to do somebody's nails be it a bank holiday or a Sunday or of an evening which didn't really suite my family.

All this inconvenienced me and my family, so why did I do it?

In my mind I was (a) desperated to prove I was a good enough tech (b) desperate to earn the extra cash (c) desperate to please my clients every whim by bending over backwards even if it meant giving freebies (d) desperate not to lose my clients (e) desperate to prove my worth etc......... Basically I was DESPERATE!

Yet at the end of the day, many clients were happy to walk over me, take advantage of my good will, let me down by forgetting appointments etc... and really, it was my own fault because I let them because I was lacking confidence. I can also be a bit of a softie:rolleyes: .

Hopefully, I can get my nail business up and running again now and do things differently. Many experienced geeks on this site take no bull s--t from anyone where their business is concerned. Take Carl (Nailzoo) for example who charges for missed appointments or late cancelations, and rightly so!