Is this normal pedi and mani techniques?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JDs

Curly Hair Geek
Reaction score
Hi all...
I have just experienced my first ever NSS pedi and white tips polish on natural nails.

Let me explain why i did it before anyone shoots at me,:D

I had a semi formal wedding that took place on a Yacht to attend and all the stylists at the salon were booked up already, so I and my sister went to a local nss salon and had a spa pedi and I had a white tip polish done on my natural nails. No mani involved.
I myself do not do pedis and i am not good at freehand white tips..so...

Anyways, had the pedi done first, which was nice with the big foot spa chair but when she dipped my toesys in the paraffin, i just about came out of the chair because the wax was so hot. She had a very firm grip on my ankle so I couldn't kick her. :lol: She left the wax on for no more than 3 mins each foot which I could not see the benefits of it when she didn't put any lotions on prior.
She did a white tip polish on my toes and made the white part about 1/3 of my nail, which I found very wierd looking..but anyways

When it came time for my white tips on finger nails, she took a buffer to the tops of my nails and buffed all the shine off them before applying the base, white polish and overcoat. (which this is only the second day of having them done and the polish is already chipping off in big pieces):cry:

My question: is it normal to buff the natural nails before doing the polish for a french?

BTW..she did all this in under 1 hour. I asked my sister since she has gotten pedis done by these guys before if that was all normal and she said yes. I then informed her that she was freaking crazy to go back again and pay good money for such a rushed job.

Never again but at least now I know what it is like...:rolleyes: