Job Dilemma

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cherrysoda

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Im in a bit of a dilema! :irked:

I qualified as a nail technician with Creative in May 07 and had my own salon for a while but experienced alot of problems with another salon and had to close.

Then i tried renting a chair in a hair salon in a busy town but it was so quiet i had to give it up too! (think there are to many nail techs charging £20 and less to compete with)

So now i work as an administrator and I HATE IT!!!!!

I really love being a nail tech - Its my true calling!!! But i just cant find the right way to go about it:cry:

There are no "paid" tech jobs in my area (all rent a chair) and i was wondering if it was worth traveling (maybe up to an hour) to work for a well established nail/beauty salon or in a department store that paid a wage????

Does anyone do this or know someone that does this??

Please Please help i dont want to have to completly give up something i love so much!!:cry:

Thanks in advance xxx

Hi hun, Im so sorry your so unhappy in your job! we've all been there!!

Ok, Have you thought about going mobile?? I have recently left my salon after a year due to a business partnership not working out. I love nails as do you, I feel like its my passion and its what i'm meant to be doing. But recently I have started working for a local bank. Its great hours weekends and evening off and it gives me the security of having a regular wage. Ok sorry to rant on lol my point is, why dont you stick at your office job for a few more months and advertise your nail talents like crazy enabling you to build a regular client base. Once you have done this maybe you can go free lance full time or look at finding a base within your area? Just a suggestion anyway.