Mobile accounts

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chocolatepickle

Reaction score
As a mobile therapist I've been keeping my own accounts simply.
I've not been trading for a year yet so havent had to submit a tax return before but with my new years resolution to sort out my business and run more professionally I've been looking at business link all morning... only theres so much to take in! I have just a couple of questions now and would be greatful if any geeks would be able to help please.

My accounts have been basic- I have a book and every time i have a job I write in there what it is and when i get receipts i staple them in on the relevant month. I have table consisting of:

Month/ income £ / outgoing £ / total (income minus outcome) £

is this good enough for a micro business or do I need to include more?

Also, before I registered as a business and still since then I buy lots of products I 'want' as I like to practice in my free time as a hobby as well.
I'm aware you can have pre-trading expenses but much of this was bought with the intention of personal use- before I decided to go self employed.
The receipts for this stuff far exceeds my income but I now use a lot in business... Do i put this through as expenses as obviously now if someone wanted it I have it.
I havent put them though as I thought it would just look like I am taking the p with the amount it would come to in comparison to the amount of income I have made.

My brain is frazzled! I'm waiting to hear of local business courses but havent heard anything yet so trying to just sort myself out in the meantime.

Also, the details I will be keeping so far include:

-My qualifications/ insurance.

-Product MSDS sheets