Need help choosing card machine

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Annemarie

CND Grand Master tech
Reaction score
I am looking into getting a card machine for my salon (long overdue) and really need some help with choosing the correct reasonably priced one that won't burn a huge hole in my pocket. Iygwim .
I have been doing some research these past few weeks and have had a couple of reps call in. I've never had a card machine before so I'm new to it all.
I have a rep calling in tomorrow from a company called Transax merchant services.
The fees are this
No contract
£16.80 monthly for machine
20p debit card transactions
Credit card 1.6%
Annual security £30.00
Single billing
No minimum monthly fee
What's everyone's thoughts on this? Is it reasonable? Is there any other companies cheaper? I don't really want to be tied into a contract if possible.
Thanks in advance :)
I've read a good few threads on here regarding card machines and I'm still none the wiser.

I've not heard of this one.. Everyone will recommend the system they use, for me that's sumup. Free app, free card reader, no monthly fees or contract, excellent customer service and I only pay 1.95% on transactions whether it's credit or debit cards. Very very pleased with their service and my clients love it

Not companies I have heard of. Used to be with Elevon but now with CardSave. Cheaper and better.

Similar fees to above but we have different list of requirements but we pay 20p per transaction and our monthly rental includes 350 free debit transactions a month.

You can haggle with them and they are very good with the merchant services provided by Streamline.

Google is your best friend to find out what a company is like however over the years I refuse any advertising/service by phone and/or reps. If you need self employed reps to go sell your services then the business must not be able to sell itself.