Same bad wax problem with one client for years. Help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lisa1983

Reaction score
Hi fellow Geeks

Im hoping some one can help me here.

I have been waxing my brothers back and chest for the last 8 years (since he was 15) and we only do it once or twice a year pre holiday.

We are half Greek and half Italian so my bro has always had very thick course strong hair.
He has found the hair embrassing as he stood out from his mates on holiday.

The first time i waxed him i used warm strip wax.
I checked the temperature, my technique e.t.c and although it was painful for him it was a normal wax reaction.

However the next morning i was horrified to discover that my bros back and chest had some mad reaction resulting in the whole waxed area being covered in papules, pimples and some angry looking welts.

I thought that either my technique was way out or that strip wax was not for him. I also now that after each wax he followed the correct after care ( No hot baths, swimming, creams e.t.c) as we lived together untill 3 years ago.

I followed this up with weekly back cleanses but it still took months for the reaction to totally go.

I suggested to my bro that we wax again with hot hard wax once hair grows back. We did this and still the same result.

I have tried all sorts of pre and post care for him ( he was happy to experiment to find a solution) including ( Now this is random) Clippering the hair and bleaching the back and chest a week before waxing ( an asian therapist suggested this to me as the bleach would weaken hair and toughen skin). Still same bad reaction.

Over the last 7 years i have tried it all:
Back cleanses 1 week before waxing.
Exfoliation day before waxing
Different wax techiniques
Cammomile, lavender, honey and tea tree waxes
Aloe vera gel for healing
Different hot waxes.