Shellac clients all getting peeling nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

claire bear

Reaction score
i have been using shellac now for two years and use the correct procedure but i feel shellac makes most of my clients nails peel. i sell so much solar oil my clients could almost be bathing in it. i just dont know why this is when you say if they use the oil their nails wont peel beacause they do in 90% of clients. it also says shellac is maintanance free but how is this so when clients have to oil their nails to make it last better. does anyone else find this?

Is it their nails that are peeling or the Shellac?

their nails underneath

If its their nails that are peeling then it may be your removal method that is causing them to peel. Can you talk us through your application and removal steps to see if we can help?

It sounds like you are maybe being a little heavy handed on removal? Base coat should be soooooo thin it's like there's nothing on your brush otherwise it will take longer to remove xx

i wrap their nails in the new nourishing remover and foil. leave for 8 minutes and gently scrape the shellac from the nail nor scratching the nail but i do use a blunt metal cuticle pusher... then i scrub the nail with a cotton pad soaked with remover to remove any last bits x

Does the Shellac just flake off once you remove the foils or do you have to use a bit of force? I would suggest using an orange wood stick instead of using a cuticle pusher as even a blunt one may be scratching the nails

no it just flakes off i apply all layers thinly enough

It may just be that over time the use of the cuticle pusher may be making tiny scratches to the nail which are then causing the nail to peel. Correctly applied and removed Shellac will cause no damage to the natural nail, are you removing shine before application?

Hi,