What are the pros and cons of mobile hairdressing?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bri84

Reaction score
I have been working in a salon for 9 years, which is where I trained. I work on a self employed basis where I get 50% of my earnings. I have never made much money and even got a second job at one point to pay the bills. My boss also gets me to do home visits where I still only get 50% plus a couple of quid for petrol. But now it seems like the only new clients i get are home visits, and Im starting to think maybe I should start up my own mobile business so I can keep all my money instead of giving half away!! I have looked into it and I think I would be alot better off financially (some weeks I earn less than £100) but I am worried that I may find it lonely and miss my colleagues. I know it sounds silly but I have been there a long time!! How do all you other mobile hairdressers find it??

Hi, I am not a hairdresser, but work for myself renting a beauty room, and it really sounds like you are getting the raw end of the deal!

I know you said you dont like the idea of not working with others in a salon, if you did go mobile, have you not thought about renting a chair in another salon?

I know its not the nicest thing to do but just tell your home visits you can still do them but your will be working for yourself and to call your mobile to book an appointment, even say to them your prices will be a little lower than the shops price list or give them a % discount on their first 2/3 appointments with you. As you will still be earning more than before as you will get to keep all the money.

I hope this has helped a little, good luck.

Emma x:hug:x

Thankyou yes it has helped. Ive decided Im just going to go for it and start up my own mobiling business. As they say, nothing ventured nothing gained!! xx