What do you call yourself when people ask what do you do?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redsadie

Reaction score
I only ask this because although Acrylic Nail Enhancements are going to be my primary business, I will also be offering waxing and tanning once I have done my training for these too.

If I was just doing acrylics, I would say, "I'm a Nail Technician", but if I add waxing and tanning too, I wouldn't class myself as a Beauty Therapist because I'm not, so what would I be? A Nail Tech who does waxing and tanning?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Sarah. xx

Hi there

I call myself a holistic and beauty therapist or just say im, a beutician that can do aromatherapy reflexology, reiki,,, i like to call myself more as a beautician, only coz it sounds better and bit more posh lol:)

I Call Myself Hair And Beauty Therapist

mmmmmm know what you mean Nail stylist trips out quiet nicely but when you start adding bits but don't do it all its a bit harder to find a title thats not misleading. Skin therapist? beauty therapist? Its either that or add makeup in to and jump for beautician :lol:

I call myself an holistic therapist or complementary therapist. If they still look none the wiser, I say "I do massage".

I think you will be prepared for a lengthy title,

nail tech with beauty?

beauty therapist - ive found that calling yourself a beautician cungers (sp) up dim blondes - i am blonde - be it out of a bottle - but BEAUTY THERAPIST sounds better imo

"Estheticienne".....i like to throw people off balance...:lol:

Otherwise,i practice the esthetic's of beauty therapy....seeing peoples reactions can be amusing....oh how wicked am i:!:

But,never,never beautician:eek:

^I can't even pronounce that lol!

How about a Waxing & Tanning Therapist and Nail Technician? Bit of a mouthfull but it tells them exactly what you do.