What to do with a 4yr old girls hair!!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

florence2004

Reaction score
Hi there

My 4 year old daughter starts school on the 27th August and I have no idea how I am going to manage her hair. She has lots of very fine hair that comes to just below her shoulders that is all different lengths thank to her DIY job of cutting it. She also has a very strong side parting to the point of if you want to brush her fringe back in the centre it sticks up. The fringe is also difficult as this was one of the areas she cut and she took it back way too far and so we are trying to grow it out. There is no point trying to put any slides or clips in her hair as they just fall out where her hair is so soft.

I am looking for ideas as to how I can put her hair up so it's out the way for school. I find that braids work the best on her hair but I am not very good at it. I would also love to try cornrows on her hair too to keep the front out the way while it's growing but trying to part her hair is a nightmare!!

Any suggestions?

Gods this brings back memories of sitting on the kitchen table with my mom cutting my hair :eek:

Im not a hairdressor but Ive got fine hair like you've described your daughter having, I always found having it bobbed helped keep it out of my way while I was a kiddie. Might help get it all one length if shes cut it a few different lengths.
Hair doesnt have to be put up to be practical, I cant get mine to stay up, never could but little kids do seem to suit bobs IMO.
Perhaps get her one of those alice bands to keep it away from her face even?

That and keep all sharp things away from her so she cant DIY her hair anymore :eek: :eek:

:hug:

Hi there