I Feel Like a Fraud.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lovenails1

Reaction score
I've been thinking about a comment one of the girls I work with made to me a few days ago.

I work 2 days a week at the Airport, helping out with Accommodation Units, in other words...I'm a cleaner.:grr:

Anyway, when I was telling a lady about my being a Finalist in this Comp at the weekend, she snarly said "Well what are you doing cleaning toilets then?":evil:

As much as I was peed at her, she is right in a way.

I work as much as I can doing nails, days, nights, weekends etc, but it still isn't really enough to feed my kids etc. I'm a single mum and when it boils down to it, I WILL clean whatever I have to, to survive.

So in that way, I know I'm doing the right thing by getting those 4 days a fortnight paid in the bank without the worry etc, but where do I fit with what my occupation is.

I always say "I'm a Nail Tech", I never say "I'm a cleaner", so I'm confused.

What are other Geeks doing for extra income, if nails aren't enough.

Well I admire the hell out of you for what you do. :hug:

When I was a single mum, I had no training to do anything. I always said I'd do any job to keep my children fed and clothed and a roof over our heads at that time (and it would be the best job I could do too). Mercifully, a friend asked me to run his office and I survived that way.

When I got into nails, it was more than enough to pay the bills and give us a good life, but I did then have the support of my man behind me both monetary and mentally..

Hun,

Don't feel like a fraud, there are a lot of us that have two jobs (one being a nail tech) in order for us to pay the bills.

I have a office job that pays very well, and to be honest, I don't think I will ever earn what I earn with my day job just doing nails.