Natural Nails keep Splitting but I don't know why... Any ideas?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UKRed

Reaction score
I regularly manicure and polish my mum’s nails, but she complains that her nails are splitting. They are quite strong but they are ridged and sometimes curve over and become flexible.

I have tried allsorts of things like nail hardener, ridge filler and just regular manicures.. But I can’t seem to fix the problem.

She only put her sock on the other day and somehow caught the nail and part of the top layer split.

I don’t understand what is wrong unless its just because she is 62 years old and it’s the aging process.

I am clueless as to what to do next, as I am only a trainee I thought it would be a good idea to ask you guys… the professionals.

Sorry to be a pain and Thanks for any help… x

what grit file are you/she using to file the natural free edge?

I regularly manicure and polish my mum’s nails, but she complains that her nails are splitting. They are quite strong but they are ridged and sometimes curve over and become flexible.

I have tried allsorts of things like nail hardener, ridge filler and just regular manicures.. But I can’t seem to fix the problem.

She only put her sock on the other day and somehow caught the nail and part of the top layer split.

I don’t understand what is wrong unless its just because she is 62 years old and it’s the aging process.

I am clueless as to what to do next, as I am only a trainee I thought it would be a good idea to ask you guys… the professionals.

Sorry to be a pain and Thanks for any help… x
I had lovely long talons (natural) until I was 48 then my ring finger started splitting - always in the same place, then other nails started flaking and peeling. They are now very thin and curve and buckle all the time, which is why I wear Brisa enhancements.