Time issues - am I missing something? lol

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abook

Reaction score
I meant to add this to my other post and forgot. I have been doing nails for almost 8 years now and am still very upset about how long it takes me. I don't doddle around, when i start I go straight through and don't stop unless the client gets up to wash their hands. For a normal natural set with a top coat usually takes anywhere from 1 1/2 - 2 hrs. Heaven forbid they want art work done, then it will take anywhere up to 3 - 4 hours! That's rediculous. Most dont seem to mind as they love them when they get done, but I feel like its not worth it for either of us to be sitting like that for so long. This is my normal routine
Prep nails, remove shine, cuticle care and natural nail shaping
have them wash with specific soap to dehydrate
add tips
ph balance and prime
place L&P (also mix in art if necessary, glitters, rhinestones etc)
buff and file to make sure all are even and shaped nicely
polish and / or airbrush

I know that even though I have been doing nails for as long as I have, sometimes I just can seem to get the acrylic on beautifully with the 3 ball method, or even using a larger brush and placing one ball in the middle and then more if necessary to build arch and tip up. I have tried everything to try and cut the time down to at least 1 1/2 solid and then an extra 1/2hr for artwork, total! I just can't seem to do it. Any sugesstions would be awesome. Is this normal?

This is my normal routine
Prep nails, remove shine, cuticle care and natural nail shaping
have them wash with specific soap to dehydrate
add tips
ph balance and prime
place L&P (also mix in art if necessary, glitters, rhinestones etc)
buff and file to make sure all are even and shaped nicely
polish and / or airbrush