Water decals on Shellac

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nails_4_U

Reaction score
Just ordered my first water decals. I have never used them before so just have a few questions...

-when during the shellac process would u apply the decals?
-do you need to remove the inhibition layer before applying the decal?
-do you need to cut it perfectly around the decal or it doesnt show if its not perfect?

Thanks in advance for any advice given :)

Sent from my GT-I9305T using SalonGeek

- apply your decal on your 2nd colour coat, before topcoating
- it is personal preference but I like to leave the tacky layer on as I feel I get a better "stick" when applying the decals
- you can just cut the paper bit roughly (in order to dip it in the water without affecting the other designs) as the decals have their own cut out area which you peel off when wet

Xxx

Another tip I found when using water decals is when I take them out of the water and ready to place on the nail, I lay them on the back of my hand to mop up any excess water but it doesn't affect them sticking to to the inhibition layer.

Thanks for all the help :) cant wait to try them out :)

Sent from my GT-I9305T using SalonGeek

So I tried Marilyn Monroe water decals for the first time today I cut them in squares put them in water peeled of the cardboard placed it on the nail and allowed to dry I haven't placed on top coat as I'm not sure is this right as I can still see the clear plastic a little bit

So I tried Marilyn Monroe water decals for the first time today I cut them in squares put them in water peeled of the cardboard placed it on the nail and allowed to dry I haven't placed on top coat as I'm not sure is this right as I can still see the clear plastic a little bit

once you stick it down gently peel the clear plastic bit back so the sticker comes off :)