How can a nail tech deal with having the shakes?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minxymax

Reaction score
Hi!!
Ive being doing nails for a couple of years now, and still learning.. Ive always been pretty steady with clients and quietly confident..
Almost 3 months ago i started renting a space in the salon, started quietly and then gradually its really picked up...
Unfortunately there has been a lot of stress in my life recently and finding it hard to settle in the salon, and ive ended up quite 'shaky',and its almost like my nerves have gone...
How can a nail tech be shaky?? The finish looks great on the polish, but takes me slightly longer.. when going acrylics and gels, im really having to battle with myself when doing the smile lines etc.. So now it seems like every thing is taking for ever, which makes the client think im a complete beginner and i know the quality of my work is wavering....
im not sure if im posting this in the right area, but i could really do with some good advise to help me stop shaking and eventually throwing the towel in.........
Thanks for reading
Max xx

Last edited:
Have you been to the doctor Max? they will be able to help you :hug:

Hi, I don't know if its stress you are under and maybe a quick trip to the docs may be worth a thought, but maybe you could take a look at some of the over the counter meds you can get eg Kalms. It may help you relax and pick up your confidence a bit. It can be a vicious circle otherwise, you panic about your nerves, causing more shaking, losing your confidence along the way. Good luck and i hope things improve soon x

Thankyou to you both, i think i just needed to hear it from someone else...x

ive been like that. the more you worry about it, the more you are likely to shake , the more unprofessional you feel and then you worry a bit more and shake a bit more ! its so horrible.