Company with similar name?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cabinkel

Reaction score
Hi geeks, Im hoping someone can offer a bit of advice.
I have been trading under my business name for 6 years. I have received a call from a compnay today to say that they have registered a similar name, and that I cant use it! The names have 1 word the same in it! I am Sassy Lashes, they are Sassy - - -. Surely they cannot legally make me change it. They have registered the name a year ago, and are not local to me at all! Not even same county!
they said they are issuing me a "notice" . Anyone shed any light on this??
Im so cross!

Unless their name is exactly the same as yours, they don't have a leg to stand on. If their company is something other than Sassy Lashes I'd just ignore them. What do they do? Do they do the same services as you? Can you prove (you shouldn't need to but just in-case) that you have been using your name for longer than they have?

I presume you are a sole trader? And not a registered company? If you're a Ltd company then there is definitely nothing they can do about it.

"Sassy" is a standard dictionary word. There are 35 limited companies that start with the word "Sassy" listed on the Companies House website, Companies House - none of which also contain the word "Lashes".

What they are trying to do is akin to Richard Ashcroft and his band trying to sue Extensionize because his business happens to be called "Verve Designs" - where "Verve" happens to be a standard dictionary word too...

Last edited:
If it helps, your website domain sassylashes.co.uk was registered on 29th October 2009 - so if this was before the date that the other company registered their name, then this will count as proof that you were trading using this name before they registered their name. Likewise any documentation using the name Sassy Lashes from your bank, HMRC, etc...